European Union

The European Union is an economic and political union of 28 states, located primarily in Europe. It acts in a wide range of policy areas — economic, social, regulatory and financial — where its action is beneficial to the member states.
The main bodies of EU are:

The Council of the European Union, which represents the member states, is the EU’s main decision-taking body.

The European Parliament, which represents the people, shares legislative and budgetary power with the Council of the European Union.

The European Commission, which represents the common interest of the EU, is the main executive body. It has the right to propose legislation and ensures that EU policies are properly implemented.

CCIVS mainly focuses on the actions implemented by European Commission, especially through the Education, Audiovisual and Cultural Executive Agency – EACEA. Its role is to manage European funding opportunities and networks in the fields of education and training, citizenship, youth, audiovisual and culture. Among the different programmes managed by the Agency, CCIVS has received financial support from the “Youth in Action” programme, the Erasmus+ programme and the European Solidarity Corps. It aims to inspire a sense of active European citizenship, solidarity and tolerance among young people. It promotes mobility within and beyond the EU’s borders, non-formal learning and intercultural dialogue, and encourages the inclusion of all young people, regardless of their educational, social and cultural background.

Scroll to Top